Time For a Picnic

     “Oh, he was, it was his like 12th birthday. He had been planning his party at this park. He was going to have pizza and games and just have some fun…but he ended up half an hour late. So, when he got there…we had been waiting for him and it looked more like a surprise birthday party.” They both laughed at the story. 

     “Are you laughing at me?” Jamie came up the hill with a small basket in his hand. “And to think I was trying to be nice.” 

     “No, not at all. We were laughing at a bird,” Autumn lied. 

     “You are one terrible liar,” he laughed. “I brought us all a picnic!” 

     “I was going to question what the basket was for,” Skylar responded. 

     “That’s why I was so late. I was preparing some delicious food!” He asked them to stand up and laid a beautiful blanket. “Here are the meals of today!” He brought out a stack of sandwiches, a variety of fruits, multiple chocolates, and even more snacks. Some were Autumn’s favorites, other Skylar’s favorites, and a few of Jamie’s favorites. 

     “Did you go out and buy these just for this picnic?” Autumn asked while grabbing some of the fruit. 

     “Yup, I wanted to get things y’all liked. Like, I got some KitKats since Skylar loves them. Oh, and I got some watermelon because you love them. And the most important part, sandwiches!” 

     “What did you put in these sandwiches?” Skylar asked while looking at the variety. 

     “Well, some of them are grilled cheese, duh, and some are bologna and ham!” 

     “You really like grilled cheese, don’t you?” Skylar teased 

     “Yeah, of course I do, it’s so magnificent. So delicious, a true delicacy.” Autumn and Skylar looked at each other before laughing. 

     “Aren’t you lactose intolerant?” Autumn asked after her laughing fit. 

     “Yeah…and?” 

      “Doesn’t that mean you shouldn’t eat cheese?” Skylar questioned further. 

      “It means I eat cheese and regret it later, simple as that. Not hard to understand,” Jamie feigned offence and caused the other two to burst out in laughter. “You know what, since you two have no respect, I’ll keep these to myself.” Jamie grabbed the three grilled cheeses. 

     “Don’t hog the food,” Autumn stole a sandwich. “I can laugh at you and respect the sandwich.” 

    “Yeah, okay, whatever. Let us feast!” Jamie proclaimed, making all three laugh. 

Leave a comment